Microsoft Office Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

What does subscript out of range mean?

 
 
Joe Ramos
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      03-21-2006, 06:43 PM
When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
working with Office 2003.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
BMC Estimator
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      03-22-2006, 05:31 PM
I was having same problem trying to import from Excel. I posted a request
for help but did not get any responses. In the meantime, I deleted all empty
columns and rows (they were empty cells I deleted, but the worksheet
previously had content in cells out to last column of the worksheet). I then
had no problem importing the worksheet into Access. I think that once cells
in the worksheet have content or have formatting applied to them, even if
later deleted, Excel (or Access) looks at those cells as part of the import.
Deleting the empty columns and/or rows restores them to a "pristine"
condition (I'm guessing). You might also try copying the active cells to a
new worksheet. Hope this helps.



"Joe Ramos" wrote:

> When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
> gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
> importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
> I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
> working with Office 2003.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Francis of Harvey
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-08-2009, 02:03 PM


"Joe Ramos" wrote:

> When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
> gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
> importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
> I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
> working with Office 2003.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Francis of Harvey
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-08-2009, 02:10 PM
I also had this message when importing from Excel into an Access DB and later
solved the problem. The trouble was that there was more than one type of data
in one of the columns of the Excel spreadsheet. There were both text fields
and date fields in the same Excel column and Access would not accept this.
When I removed the date fields, the Excel data was imported as normal. Try to
check your spreadsheet to make sure that the data type in each column matches
with the data type format in the Access DB columns and I think that this will
solve your problem. Hope this helps you.

"Joe Ramos" wrote:

> When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
> gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
> importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
> I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
> working with Office 2003.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Francis of Harvey
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-28-2009, 02:22 PM
In addition to making sure that the data types in the Excel sheet columns
correspond to the data types in the Access table, you may want to make sure
that the Ecel sheet has no hidden columns or rows. I encountered a persistent
problem with one Excel sheet that gave a ""subcript out of range" message.
The only way this sheet would import was for me to highlight all columns and
then select the command to "unhide columns" in the format menu. Although I
had no hidden columns, this command itself was sufficient for the Excel sheet
to adjust itself and allow it to be imported into Access. It seems that
Access is very sensitive to certain formatting situations in Excel that
prevent Excel tables from being imported. Whatever the reason, this action
finally allowed the import to take place. Hope this info helps you.

"Joe Ramos" wrote:

> When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
> gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
> importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
> I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
> working with Office 2003.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Helen
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-02-2009, 05:28 AM
having spent half a working day on this and doing all the usual things re
data types, named ranges etc etc, the only way round it I can find it to
import the spreadsheet into a new table rather than appending it to an
existing one, and then taking the existing data from the Access table to the
newly created one. A real pain but at least it worked. Only trouble is - if
you have existing queries, reports etc they may have to be re-done.

"Francis of Harvey" wrote:

> In addition to making sure that the data types in the Excel sheet columns
> correspond to the data types in the Access table, you may want to make sure
> that the Ecel sheet has no hidden columns or rows. I encountered a persistent
> problem with one Excel sheet that gave a ""subcript out of range" message.
> The only way this sheet would import was for me to highlight all columns and
> then select the command to "unhide columns" in the format menu. Although I
> had no hidden columns, this command itself was sufficient for the Excel sheet
> to adjust itself and allow it to be imported into Access. It seems that
> Access is very sensitive to certain formatting situations in Excel that
> prevent Excel tables from being imported. Whatever the reason, this action
> finally allowed the import to take place. Hope this info helps you.
>
> "Joe Ramos" wrote:
>
> > When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
> > gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
> > importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
> > I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
> > working with Office 2003.

 
Reply With Quote
 
sponge.worthy
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-10-2009, 08:08 AM
Like others here I spent hours looking for a way to get around this error.
When I figured it out, i felt like kicking myself. You know how when you
start Access there is that "Security Warning - certain content blah blah
disabled" message is there below the ribbon? Just click options and select
"allow this content". The data came in after that! I couldn't believe it -
Access was denying access to Access...

I know this is too late for you Joe, but hopefully it will help others in
the future.

Cheers,
-sw

"Joe Ramos" wrote:

> When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
> gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
> importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
> I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
> working with Office 2003.

 
Reply With Quote
 
i.need.help
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-20-2009, 10:07 PM
Hallelujah! I had tried all of the other helpful hints but nothing worked
until your suggestion. BRILLIANT! Thanks so much!

"sponge.worthy" wrote:

> Like others here I spent hours looking for a way to get around this error.
> When I figured it out, i felt like kicking myself. You know how when you
> start Access there is that "Security Warning - certain content blah blah
> disabled" message is there below the ribbon? Just click options and select
> "allow this content". The data came in after that! I couldn't believe it -
> Access was denying access to Access...
>
> I know this is too late for you Joe, but hopefully it will help others in
> the future.
>
> Cheers,
> -sw
>
> "Joe Ramos" wrote:
>
> > When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
> > gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
> > importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
> > I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
> > working with Office 2003.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Virginia K
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-13-2010, 12:13 AM
I tried all of the things that were suggested and ended up just closing
Access and coming back in. I still don't know what the problem was.

"Joe Ramos" wrote:

> When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import wizard
> gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
> importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
> I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error. I'm
> working with Office 2003.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Gina Whipp
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-13-2010, 12:50 AM
Virginia,

Unfortunately, I don't know what all those things are because I only see
your message... So pardon me if some of the below has already been
suggested.

Several reasons for this... Could be the Excel spreadsheet has too many
columns, could be there is some corruption in the Excel spreadsheet, could
be the way Access is translating your columns in Excel, could be there are
calculated fields in Excel that Access can't translate for what ever reason.

So going to need a little more information...

1. How many columns is the spreadsheet?
2. Do you have any calculated columns?
3. Have you looked at the spreadsheet to confirm there are no errors on the
sheet?
4. Just on a whim here, do you column headings use any Reserved Words (or
Wildcard characters) that might confuse Access?
5. Are you using the wizard or did you write some code? (If you wrote some
code can you post it here?)
6. Have you tried it manually? (You know, File... Import...)

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"Virginia K" <Virginia http://www.office-forums.com/(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>I tried all of the things that were suggested and ended up just closing
> Access and coming back in. I still don't know what the problem was.
>
> "Joe Ramos" wrote:
>
>> When I'm importing an Excel spreadsheet into an Access DB the import
>> wizard
>> gives me a dialog box stating that the subscript is out of range. I am
>> importing the table to be used in a report that has already been created.
>> I've tried importing the spreadsheet to a new DB and get the same error.
>> I'm
>> working with Office 2003.



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to write subscript to subscript in MS Word 2003 Satyabrat Word Documents 2 06-13-2006 11:17 PM
how to write subscript to subscript in MS Word 2003 Satyabrat Word Documents 0 06-10-2006 11:17 AM
Range Find got Subscript out of range PT91745 Excel Programming 5 01-18-2006 11:06 PM
What does "subscript out of range" mean when running AutoReport Wi SuzyCue Access General 3 10-11-2004 04:32 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 AM.
Microsoft Office Forums is not affiliated with Microsoft Corporation.


Welcome!
Welcome to the Microsoft Office Forums
 


Latest Threads
New user looking for shapes/templates
SargeUSMC (04-21-2014, 04:23 PM)

Mail Merging Content With High Quality
oleander (04-17-2014, 11:59 PM)

Aargh. What is this?
PeteJ (04-17-2014, 12:10 PM)

Word 2013 Insert Symbol (Not Responding)
tpthrshr (04-17-2014, 02:49 AM)

Can't save a large Word document
Josh (04-17-2014, 01:03 AM)