Would like to input 3 letters into a cell, each having a different numerical value

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
New to the forum. I'm a CATE teacher and am working on a professionalism rubric that I can carry with me in the lab. I am getting stuck on this part. I would like to input one of 3 letters into a cell and have it correspond to a numerical value that a formula in another cell will see as that numerical value.
A layman's example would be: Y=100, P=75, n=50. I have this formula "=SUM(F2*0.25)+(((G2+H2)/2)*0.25)+(((J2+K2)/2)*0.25)+(((M2+N2)/2)*0.25)" in another cell that would need the numerical value of the letter in order for it to work.
I know my formula is somewhat amateurish but I'm a noob to all of this.
Thanks
John.

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum :)

Could you talk me through your formula please, and also give some details on what isn't working?

Reaction score
Hi Becky,
Sorry but I accidentally deleted the link to this site.
I've been working on my worksheet and have learned quite a bit since October. I'm still running into an issue with the original problem that I posted above. I should be better able to explain it now though.
My goal is to input 1 of 3 possible letter characters into a cell and have it represent a numerical value that can then be used in the formula of another cell. I've seen some examples like =IF("Y"=0, "N"=1) but I can't seem to make that work for me. I can only assume I'm doing something wrong.
I hope you are still out there and can help me.
Thanks.
John

Reaction score
Wow, I remember why I kept putting this part of my worksheet off. Because it is kicking my butt.
a pic might help.
N4.JPG

the area I'm talking about is the fields below the participation column. I would like the letters "Y", "E", and "V" to equal 100. And the letter "N" to equal 0. If the cell is left blank then no value should be returned.