Entourage Quits While Composing Email w/ "Mail Error"

M

mcgreek

Version: v.X
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther)
Processor: Power PC

Hi. I'm a newbie here, sent by Microsoft Tech SUpport. I'm grateful you're here.....

For starters, I have Entourage10.1.6 from Office X for Mac. And my Mac is 10.3.9 on a Power PC G4 tower....

For the past week I have been unable to Compose New Msg, Reply or Forward an email on my Entourage (Office X) without it suddenly freezing after just a minute or two of typing.... Two things happen: (a) the message freezes on the screen and (b) the entire computer freezes -- it won't let me hit the desktop and do something else while it chills out. The cursor is totally paralyzed.. I also notice during this time that the FROM (my email name) is Grey -- regardless of which email address I use (I have 3 FROM addresses)....

Finally, after a minute or two, I get a msg on my frozen screen that says "The action could not be completed. Mail error." I hit OK. The msg pops up again. I hit OK. We do this dance a half-dozen times......

I then do one of two things to get out of the program: (a) I hit FORCE QUIT, in which case a portion might show up on Drafts but usually I lose it all, including not only the text I have written but all history that any message had ever been attempted; OR (b) It unfreezes long enough for me to go to either FILE & QUIT ENTOURAGE OR I hit the little red circle that's on top when you want to close the screen window (what do you call that? On my computer at the top barof the program it's a red circle next to yellow circle next to green circle)....