Access more symbols?

T

thelizard1079

Version: 2008 Operating System: Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) Processor: Intel Hello,
I'm new to Macs and Mac version of Excel. The symbols listed under View-Object Palette-Symbols seem limited, and I don't have nearly as many options as in a PC version of Excel (even the older versions). At the moment, I'm trying to insert an EN-DASH and EM-DASH into cells (progressively longer versions of hyphens and minus signs, which I use a lot for work). Any idea where I can access those for insertion?

Thank you!

C

CyberTaz

On a Mac you're better off using the OS X Character Viewer. You can add it
to the main menu bar so you can access it from any program, not just Excel,
and it provides far more functionality than a "feature" can.

You'll find it in AppleMenu> System Preferences> International - Input Menu.
Investigate it further in OS X Help from a Finder window.

HTH |:>)
Bob Jones
[MVP] Office:Mac

G

glenno

I'm sorry to reiterate something I mentioned in another thread, but it relates to this topic too so I figured it's worth mentioning.

It's a serious usability problem that the Symbol dialog doesn't let you access all your fonts (indeed, it only allows access to a tiny handful) in Office for Mac, like it does in Office for Windows.

The Mac OS X Character Viewer has a major usability limitation for Mac users of Office applications: you can't assign keyboard shortcuts to symbols in Office programs.

In Word (for example) for Windows, you can easily access ALL of your font symbols and characters from within Word, and assign keyboard shortcuts to all those you want. For years I've had about two dozen keyboard shortcuts for commonly-used symbol characters in Word for Windows, which made daily work extremely easy and fast.