Autodiscover and Entourage 12.1.5 vs Entourage for EWS Beta 2

J

JG_Giant

Version: 2008
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard)
Processor: Intel
Email Client: Exchange

I am an Exchange administrator searching for the options we have for migrating Mac users mailboxes from Exchange 2003 to Exchange 2007. I've spent the last couple days fighting autodiscover trying to get it to work on Entourage 2008. Finally it is working well. This works great for setting up a new email account within Entourage. The issue I have is when Entourage is configured to connect to an Exchange 2003 mailbox, and the mailbox is moved to an Exchange 2007 server, Entourage 12.1.5 does not automatically detect this change and modify the mailbox settings it is using to reflect the new paths to the servers.

My questions are as follows:

1. Is there a way to force Entourage 12.1.5 to "rediscover" its mailbox settings using the autodiscover service without forcing the users to blow out their mail settings? Possibly a script or something an admin can do on the back end? It does not seem to run at configured intervals as it is designed to do. I suspect I already know the answer to this question.

2. The announcement for the beta states:
Improved Autodiscover. In Entourage for Exchange Web Services Beta, the Autodiscover service keeps user account settings up-to-date after the account setup.
• It runs in the background every time that you start Entourage.
• It also runs at a server-defined interval, typically every hour, to make sure that the Exchange Server settings are always kept up-to-date

Does this mean that 12.1.5 does not run autodiscover in the background, nor at Entourage startup? I guess I am just looking for more clarification on exactly how autodiscover will work both on 12.1.5 and the new beta as documentation on these features are severely lacking.

W

William Smith [MVP]

1. Is there a way to force Entourage 12.1.5 to "rediscover" its