Cannot create hyperlinks - browsed internet pages do not appear in dialogue box

Discussion in 'Word' started by Elias, Nov 12, 2017 at 8:33 AM.

  1. Elias

    Elias

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The title says it all, really. When I attempt to create a hyperlink, the dialogue window opens but the space where the visited page links should appear is blank. Anyone know how I can get them back?
     
    Elias, Nov 12, 2017 at 8:33 AM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Elias

    macropod Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    24
    Did you click on the dropdown there?
     
    macropod, Nov 12, 2017 at 9:48 AM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Elias

    Elias

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't see a dropdown, only the scroll arrows. I should mention that I have hyperlinked hundreds of times in the past and never had this problem. The browsed pages were always listed. BTW sorry if there is a delay in my replies. I am posting from Australia.
     
    Elias, Nov 12, 2017 at 8:44 PM
    #3
  4. Elias

    macropod Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    24
    In the Insert|Hyperlink dialogue box, the 'Address:' box has a dropdown. That said, what you see in either box might be constrained by your system's browser security settings. In any event, you can paste the desired address into the address box.
    Likewise.
     
    macropod, Nov 12, 2017 at 10:23 PM
    #4
  5. Elias

    Elias

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't notice the kanga until now!

    You are right about the dropdown. When I click on it, it reveals the current browsed page. I can live with that. However, I am still curious as to why the full list of recently browsed pages does not appear in the dialogue box, as formerly. I will check the security settings as you suggest. Thanks.

    To add to the above, instead of 'browsed pages' the dialogue window now shows a list of items from my main drive.... 'Name/App Data/local/Microsoft/Windows/NetCache...'
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2017 at 12:27 AM
    Elias, Nov 13, 2017 at 12:01 AM
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Adrena1in
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    3,283
    Adrena1in
    Dec 6, 2013
  2. Fanty
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    402
    Fanty
    Jul 25, 2014
  3. STAVROSHOIS

    Headings and numbering of pages

    STAVROSHOIS, Dec 7, 2014, in forum: Word
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    591
  4. Keilah

    Deleting Multiple Pages

    Keilah, Dec 30, 2014, in forum: Word
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    302
    Keilah
    Dec 30, 2014
  5. vgarkov
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    361
    vgarkov
    Jul 15, 2015
  6. Gercia Biza

    word could not create a work file.

    Gercia Biza, Feb 19, 2016, in forum: Word
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    313
    Gercia Biza
    Feb 19, 2016
  7. Cabopino
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    420
    macropod
    Sep 29, 2016
  8. Ravindra
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    231
    Ravindra
    Nov 26, 2016
Loading...