Complicated Date Calculation needed

M

magmike

I am not very experienced with the date functions and formulas and therefore cannot think of a way to reach the result that I want. I have a cell, let's say A1 that I always want to update on its own based on the date with a twist.

I want it to display what day of the month it is, but only counting weekdays of our fiscal month which is from the 22nd to the 21st of every month. So today, for example, is the 21st weekday of our September, which began on August 22.

Can anybody figure this riddle out?

Thanks in advance for your help,
magmike

I

isabelle

hi magmike,

assuming that dates are in the range A1: A31

=21+A1+SUMPRODUCT((WEEKDAY(A1:A31)=7)+(WEEKDAY(A1:A31)=1))-2

isabelle

Le 2013-09-19 22:01, magmike a écrit :
I am not very experienced with the date functions and formulas and therefore cannot think

of a way to reach the result that I want. I have a cell, let's say A1
that I always want to update on its own based on the date with a twist.
I want it to display what day of the month it is, but only counting weekdays

of our fiscal month which is from the 22nd to the 21st of every month.
So today, for example, is the 21st weekday of our September, which began
on August 22.

I

isabelle

sorry my first suggestion is wrong,
it is better with this personal function

=Months_Day(A1:A31;21)

Function Months_Day(rng As Range, Number As Integer)
Dim i As Integer, n As Integer
For i = 1 To 31
If n = Number Then Months_Day = rng(i - 1): Exit Function
n = n + 1
If Application.Weekday(rng(i)) = 7 Or Application.Weekday(rng(i)) = 1 Then
n = n - 1
End If
Next

isabelle

Le 2013-09-19 22:46, isabelle a écrit :

M

magmike