Entourage does not identify conflicts withrecurring meetings and all day events

G

Gary_Eary

Version: 2008
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard)
Processor: Intel
Email Client: Exchange

I am a network administrator for 20|20 a Design and Strategy consultancy in London, England.

I have identified and can replicate an issue with Entourage 2008 SP2 (and subsequent versions) running on Mac OS Leopard 10.5.7 and 10.5.8 connecting to a Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 server with all security and service packs applied.

This issue specifically relates to Entourage's inability to identify and report meeting conflicts for All-Day Events and Recurring Meetings. I have run several testes and here's what I have found:

Issue A: All-Day Events

1. A user creates an all-day event by checking the 'All-Day Event' checkbox in the 'New Event' dialogue box and invites someone else to that event.
2. The invitee accepts the request for the All-Day Event and it's added to their calendar.
3. Another person invites that same invitee to another meeting on the same day as their all-day event.
4. Entourage DOES NOT identify the new meeting invite as conflicting with the All-Day Event.

If the user manually creates an All-Day Event instead of accepting it as an invite then the conflict checking works.

issue B: Recurring Meetings.

1. A user either creates a string of recurring meetings either directly into their own calendar or by accepting a recurring meeting sent in a request.
2. Another user sends an invite to a recipient who has an event with 2nd, or subsequent generation recurrence. (e.g. the 2nd Friday of a recurring Friday meeting lasting 3 weeks)
3. When the request is opened Entourage DOES NOT identify the conflict with the recurring meeting.

If the invite request happened to be for the 1st iteration of a recurring series of meetings then Entourage DOES correctly identify the conflict. It only neglects to identify a conflict on the subsequent iterations of a recurrence.