Equation editor: Switching All-Professional to/from All-Linear Disaster

Discussion in 'Word' started by Albert Baker, Feb 27, 2018.

  1. Albert Baker

    Albert Baker

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have countless hours invested in a paper laden with equations. At one point a particular equation toward the end of the paper was not converting correctly to All-Professional. The initial problem was underscore characters were not converting the following character to subscripts. At one point I tried to convert to Linear-All. MOST OF THE EQUATIONS IN THE ENTIRE PAPER WERE CONVERTED TO LINEAR AND NOW WHEN I TRY TO MAKE A CONVERSION IN ANY OF THESE EQUATIONS WORD 365 CRASHES. Has anyone experienced this problem? Do I have to re-enter every damned equation? Re-entry will take me several days.
     
    Albert Baker, Feb 27, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Albert Baker

    Albert Baker

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    A follow up. I’m rebuilding the paper. I have 2 separate equations. When I covert the second to the last equation to Professional-All ... . Whoops.I should use Professional vs Professional-All to hold the conversion to the current equation. However, my prior use of Professional-All should not have broken most of equations in my paper.
     
    Albert Baker, Feb 27, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Albert Baker

    Albert Baker

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am sure I’ve encountered one bug. As I build an equation with subscripts I’ve been checking just a portion of the equation by selecting Professional. When I then continue to enter the equation and, if there are subscripts in this latter part, those subscripts are stuck at “_”. Once the equation is in this broken mode no amount of fiddling resolves the problem.
     
    Albert Baker, Feb 27, 2018
    #3
  4. Albert Baker

    Albert Baker

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    A solution is to avoid “_” to denote subscripts altogether. Use the script tool from the tool bar. That was a tortuous route - but maybe this might save someone the same pain.
     
    Albert Baker, Feb 27, 2018
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.