giving a presentation on why accountants should learn someaccess...is what i say fairly accurate?

X

xyzer

I am not an Access expert compared to most of you, but compared to the average accountant I would probably be considered "very good" with Access. I continue to learn more every month or so and am grateful to have an ODBC connection to the SQL Server at work.

I am giving a brief presentation to a non-technical audience about the benefits of using Access generally for accountants. Can you read it and let me know if I'm way off base anywhere or if anything sounds odd to you? These have been my experiences, but I don't want to mislead anyone. Thanks

Benefits of learning Access for the Accountant:

Flexibility

--Your modern accounting package is essentially a database or set of databases with a front-end user interface. This means it has a bunch of “tables” in its “back end” filled with data from its front-end users (who key, say, invoices or journal entries, etc.). Using Access or other SQL-client based software, you can view and “manipulate” the data in these tables to produce useful reports.

--Canned Reports and other report-writer tools provided by the accounting software vendor can leave a lot to be desired. Even if they meet your needs at some point in time, you may want to see a report slightly differently inthe future. Having access to the back-end tables and knowing how to use Access or similar SQL-client software can help you tweak existing canned reports to fit your needs.

--The above is true whether your company is using Oracle, Dynamics GP, or even QuickBooks. Access to tables is accomplished using various SQL-client based software, like Crystal Reports or Microsoft Access through an ODBC connection. I have personally used Access to connect to back-end tables through an ODBC connection in $billion+ companies and in much smaller companies, in each case connecting Access to SQL Server.