Load resource assignments summaries


N

Newbie

Hello,
When we load MS Project Pro 2003 with a connection to Project Server, at the
bottom of the dialog box there is an option
which could be translated in English as : "Load resource assignments
summaries" .
What's the meaning and the use of that option?
Thanks for your help,

Newbie
 
Ad

Advertisements

D

Dale Howard [MVP]

Newbie --

This is an excellent question, whether you are a newbie with Project Server
or not. I believe that even experienced users do not know the purpose of
that option. When you lauch Microsoft Project Professional and log into
Project Server with that option selected, open a project, and then click
View - Resource Usage, you see the following in that view:

1. Each resource listed individually
2. Beneath each resource, you see each task in the current project
3. Beneath each resource, you also see a single line for each project,
which summarizes all of the resource's assignments in each project

#3 above is what you see if you select the option in question. If you
deselect the option and log into Project Server, you will see only #1 and #2
above. Deselecting this option is useful if you wish to see resource usage
information, such as Cost or Work, for only the selected project. It is
also useful if you wish to level overallocated resources in only the active
project. Hope this helps.
 
Ad

Advertisements

N

Newbie

Wonderful indeed!
Thanks a lot Dale !

Dale Howard said:
Newbie --

This is an excellent question, whether you are a newbie with Project Server
or not. I believe that even experienced users do not know the purpose of
that option. When you lauch Microsoft Project Professional and log into
Project Server with that option selected, open a project, and then click
View - Resource Usage, you see the following in that view:

1. Each resource listed individually
2. Beneath each resource, you see each task in the current project
3. Beneath each resource, you also see a single line for each project,
which summarizes all of the resource's assignments in each project

#3 above is what you see if you select the option in question. If you
deselect the option and log into Project Server, you will see only #1 and #2
above. Deselecting this option is useful if you wish to see resource usage
information, such as Cost or Work, for only the selected project. It is
also useful if you wish to level overallocated resources in only the active
project. Hope this helps.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top