Make "File in use" message appear when 2 people open the a shared document in the same time


Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Hello!

In my workplace we have some documents uploaded on a server that we are working on. Until a few months ago when one person had a document opened and another tried to edit it, a message popped up saying: "document.doc is being locked for editing 'another.user'" and it had 3 buttons : Read-only, Merge files, Notify.

For us it was useful because if I needed to make a change we knew how opened it and could ask the person to close the document so I could edit the info.

The problem now is that the pop-up message mentioned before does not appear anymore and if I work on the document and another one of my colleagues opens it, some of the editing made does not save.

How can I make the "File in use" message reappear?

Thank you!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Unfortunately no changes have been made to our servers or network. We have tried also to disconnect form the shared folder and reconnect using the steps to Map a new network drive and for a brief moment it worked again, but then the message didn't appear anymore. The server was even rebooted.
Do you know what sort of changes should I look for?
 

macropod

Microsoft MVP
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
429
Reaction score
37
No, I'm not a network specialist. Clearly, though, the network isn't passing on the info that the file is already in use.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top