SSO, AD and Exchange via Entourage

J

JG_Giant

Version: 2008
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard)
Processor: Intel
Email Client: Exchange

I am an Exchange admin tasked with supporting numerous Mac clients. We are currently running Exchange 2007 SP1 rollup 7. Most clients use Entourage 2008 with the latest MR (not EWS although I am doing some testing with it). Clients (Mac OS X 10.5) are currently bound to AD and pulling Kerberos tickets. I would like to enable single sign on functionality for these clients. I am prompted in Entourage when attempting to log in via kerberos authentication with a message stating Exchange is not properly configured to support Kerberos. Our current OWA environment is configured to use forms based authentication. We do this intentionally to prevent OWA from automatically logging in when opened. This allows users to sit down at any machine and log into any mailbox they choose. I need this functionality to remain in place.

I've spent the last few days attempting to locate documentation for configuring Exchange to accept Kerberos login requests. Haven't had much luck with that so far. Can anyone point me to some documents that might get me going with this? I am thinking it may be as simple as enabling windows authentication in Exchange for the IMAP protocol and in IIS 7.0 for OWA and EWS, but when I do that it overrides the forms based authentication setting. I am also hesitant to just go plugging away and trying settings as I support a rather large number of windows users as well. I'd rather not get 50 calls because I broke something else while attempting to enable SSO for a small number of users. Has anyone had similar configurations as this and gotten kerberos sso working?

Thanks

W

William Smith [MVP]

I am an Exchange admin tasked with supporting numerous Mac clients.
We are currently running Exchange 2007 SP1 rollup 7. Most clients use
Entourage 2008 with the latest MR (not EWS although I am doing some