tables dropped from ERD diagram also get dropped from "tables andviews"


J

JRough

JRough
View profile
More options Jun 5, 3:32 pm
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.visio.database.modeling
From: JRough <jlro...@yahoo.com>
Date: Thu, 5 Jun 2008 15:32:32 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Thurs, Jun 5 2008 3:32 pm
Subject: can't delete table shapes from an ERD without loosing base
tables
Reply | Reply to author | Forward | Print | Individual message | Show
original | Remove | Report this message | Find messages by this author
I have problem. When I have a duplicate table on my ERD diagram and
go to delete one of them it deletes both of them and even worse it
deletes the base table in "tables and views". I got all those tables
from reverse engineering a SQL database and I don't want them to be
deleted just because I delete a table shape from my diagram. I cannot
figure out what the "options" would be to change it. The options
don't make sense to me:

*Always drop from model
*drop from model only if last occurrence on diagram
*never drop from model
*ask user what to do

I have chosen "never drop from model" but as I said if I happen to
delete a table shape from my ERD then that base table in "tables and
views" is gone forever. I just want to move it to a 2nd page. What
is going on here?

There are some other options:
*Sync conceptual and physical names in new tables and columns when
typing

I'm not exactly sure what this does. I want all my tables from the
SQL SErver datasource to stay in the "tables and views". Visio does
not need to sync with SQL Server at this point since I already reverse
engineered all the tables I wanted into Visio.
If I uncheck this will it allow me to remove tables from the diagram
and leave the tables in "tables and views" so I can add them to a 2nd
page or move them around? If I uncheck will I just loose
tia
 
Ad

Advertisements

B

Barb Way

See my response below for the question of the Model versus the shapes on
the page.

On the question of Syncing Conceptual and Physical names: This allows you
to type one name, and force the other one to update automatically to match.
I like this option, but many modelers prefer to keep their physical name
formats completely separate from the conceptual ones, and we allow that by
unchecking the Sync box. If you don't use Conceptual names, then keeping
them synchronized is best.

Barb Way
Product Support - Visio
Microsoft Corporation
[This posting is provided "As Is" with no warranties, and confers no
rights.]
--------------------


JRough
View profile
More options Jun 5, 3:32 pm
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.visio.database.modeling
From: JRough <jlro...@yahoo.com>
Date: Thu, 5 Jun 2008 15:32:32 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Thurs, Jun 5 2008 3:32 pm
Subject: can't delete table shapes from an ERD without loosing base
tables
Reply | Reply to author | Forward | Print | Individual message | Show
original | Remove | Report this message | Find messages by this author
I have problem. When I have a duplicate table on my ERD diagram and
go to delete one of them it deletes both of them and even worse it
deletes the base table in "tables and views". I got all those tables
from reverse engineering a SQL database and I don't want them to be
deleted just because I delete a table shape from my diagram. I cannot
figure out what the "options" would be to change it. The options
don't make sense to me:

*Always drop from model
*drop from model only if last occurrence on diagram
*never drop from model
*ask user what to do

I have chosen "never drop from model" but as I said if I happen to
delete a table shape from my ERD then that base table in "tables and
views" is gone forever. I just want to move it to a 2nd page. What
is going on here?

There are some other options:
*Sync conceptual and physical names in new tables and columns when
typing

I'm not exactly sure what this does. I want all my tables from the
SQL SErver datasource to stay in the "tables and views". Visio does
not need to sync with SQL Server at this point since I already reverse
engineered all the tables I wanted into Visio.
If I uncheck this will it allow me to remove tables from the diagram
and leave the tables in "tables and views" so I can add them to a 2nd
page or move them around? If I uncheck will I just loose
tia
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top