Word Mac Page Numbering

R

Rohidas57

Version: 2008 Operating System: Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) Processor: Intel I recently completed work on a book I have been writing. The last step in the process is to add page numbers. I want the first 5 pages consist of the title page, copyright page, etc., so I don't want page numbers on these page, I want to start page#1 on what is the 5th actual page of the document. However, after carefully following the Microsoft directions, as well as other online sources, and spending upwards of 4 hours just on this task, I am considering committing suicide.
Seriously, though, I am baffled, amazed, and confused that a program that has been on the market for many years could be this broken. I mean, I am not a novice at this. I have been using PC's and programs such as Microsoft Word for upwards of 20 years. I have trained many people on computer applications, including Word, and consider myself an expert in the use of many computer applications. Yet astoundingly, to me, I cannot get page numbers to function properly on Word, either the Mac or PC version. Here is the process I am using to accomplish the task, which is to have the first 5 pages of my book NOT have any numbers on them, and have the page numbering start with number 1 on the 6th page:
1. Switch to Draft mode.
2. View the Formatting Palette.
3. Click on the bottom of the 5th page and choose “Insert Section Break, Continuous”
4. On the View menu, choose “Header and Footer”
5. Click in the footer at the bottom of the page (5) where the numbering is to start.
6. Go to the “Insert Menu” and choose “Page Numbers”
7. Click “Format” button and choose to start the page numbers at “1”.