deleting an object table from diagram drops my underlying table


J

JRough

I went through quite a bit of sacrifice to create tables in SQL Server
and then reverse engineer in Visio so I have all my tables and views
in the "table and views" window. Now I drag the table shapes onto the
diagram and am connecting the relationships. In some cases I
accidentally added the table twice. I notice to my horror if I delete
the extra one it deletes both of them. Why I do not understand. So I
just started dropping the duplicate table shape on the first one
because I could not figure out how to delete only one instance of my
table shape.

To make matters worse it deletes my underlying table!!!! That is
really bad! It is connected to SQL Server I guess that is what
reverse engineering does. So it is a live connection? I don't know
if it also dropped it from Sql Server?I'm not really sure what is
going on now since I didn't save the document so I could undo this.
NOw I have all my tables reverse engineered can you tell me how to
drop the live connection to SQL Server? I want all the tables that
were reverse engineered to stay in "Tables and Views" whether or not I
delete it from the diagram.

I noticed in Database/Options/Modeling I have the choice "always drop
from model",
"drop from model only if last occurence on diagram" or "never drop
from model". Which one I might or might not want is a mystery.

I am not sure what they mean by drop from "model" is that never drop
a table from my tables and views or from my diagram? I want to be
able to drag it back if I have deleted it and I want to be able to
delete a table shape without it going away from tables and views.
I am hoping you can help me since it took several days to reverse
engineer my database.
thanks,
 
Ad

Advertisements

B

Barb Way

I prefer the setting "Ask User what to do", if you would like a prompt when
you delete an entity from the page. That way I am always in control. If
you prefer, you can set it to Never delete instead. Be aware that in the
past, some users found that they could inadvertantly delete Tables and
leave behind orphased Relationships by using that setting.

The default in a fresh install is "Ask User", so that the accidental
deletion you found does not occur. Visio has to maintain a Model of your
database in the drawing, but you don't necessarily have to include each
object on your drawing page(s). So the shape on the page is simply a copy
of the object in the model - and the model contents are displayed in the
Tables and Views window.

If you have multiple copies of a Table entity on the page, and you do NOT
delete it from the model on removing it from the page, then only the shape
instance that you had selected should be removed from the drawing page, and
the others should maintain their link to the master entity in the Tables
and Views section.

As to what happens on the server - the answer is nothing, unless you 'push'
the change back to the server using Generate or Update Database, which are
features found only in the Visio for Enterprise Architects version, not in
Visio Pro. (VEA is a bundled version of Visio found only with Visual
Studio Team editions).

Barb Way
Product Support - Visio
Microsoft Corporation
[This posting is provided "As Is" with no warranties, and confers no
rights.]
--------------------

I went through quite a bit of sacrifice to create tables in SQL Server
and then reverse engineer in Visio so I have all my tables and views
in the "table and views" window. Now I drag the table shapes onto the
diagram and am connecting the relationships. In some cases I
accidentally added the table twice. I notice to my horror if I delete
the extra one it deletes both of them. Why I do not understand. So I
just started dropping the duplicate table shape on the first one
because I could not figure out how to delete only one instance of my
table shape.

To make matters worse it deletes my underlying table!!!! That is
really bad! It is connected to SQL Server I guess that is what
reverse engineering does. So it is a live connection? I don't know
if it also dropped it from Sql Server?I'm not really sure what is
going on now since I didn't save the document so I could undo this.
NOw I have all my tables reverse engineered can you tell me how to
drop the live connection to SQL Server? I want all the tables that
were reverse engineered to stay in "Tables and Views" whether or not I
delete it from the diagram.

I noticed in Database/Options/Modeling I have the choice "always drop
from model",
"drop from model only if last occurence on diagram" or "never drop
from model". Which one I might or might not want is a mystery.

I am not sure what they mean by drop from "model" is that never drop
a table from my tables and views or from my diagram? I want to be
able to drag it back if I have deleted it and I want to be able to
delete a table shape without it going away from tables and views.
I am hoping you can help me since it took several days to reverse
engineer my database.
thanks,
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top