Entourage Quits w/ "Mail Error" While Writing Email

M

mcgreek

Version: v.X
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther)
Processor: Power PC
Email Client: pop

Hi. I'm a newbie here, sent by Microsoft Tech SUpport. I'm grateful you're here..... I read a lot of the "Entourage crashes" questions, but have not seen my problem, so here goes...

For starters, I have Entourage 10.1.6 from Office X for Mac. And my Mac is 10.3.9 on a Power PC G4 tower....

For the past week I have been unable to Compose New Msg, Reply or Forward an email on my Entourage without it suddenly freezing after just a minute or two of typing.... Two things happen: (a) the message freezes on the screen and (b) the entire computer freezes -- it won't let me click on the desktop or go online or do anything else till it chills out. The cursor is paralyzed... I also notice during this time that the FROM (my email name) is Grey -- regardless of which email address I use (I have 3 FROM addresses)....

Finally, after a minute or two, I get a msg on my frozen screen that says "The action could not be completed. Mail error." I hit OK. The msg pops up again. I hit OK. We do this dance a half-dozen times......

I then do one of two things to get out of the program: (a) I hit FORCE QUIT, in which case a portion might show up on Drafts but usually I lose it all, including not only my text but all history that any msg had ever been attempted; OR (b) It unfreezes long enough for me to go to either FILE & QUIT ENTOURAGE OR I hit the little red circle that's on the top bar of the program when you want to close the screen window (the red circle next to yellow circle next to green circle)....