Windows Authentication issue open up Project Server from Project Professional

S

Steve Chermak

I am in a group that is set up to use Project Server 2007 through the Project Professional program. When I set up my connection (my Project Server account) I put in my URL, specified that I use my Windows user account, and that I would manually control the connection state, in order to be able to work locally if need be

This works fine. I can not remember now if the first time I did this whether it asked me for my Windows logon ID and password or not

I have been asked to research a problem. A co-worker has to enter her Windows logon ID and password each and every time she opens up Project Professional and selects the Project Server account. I am new to this and do not know where to investigate, does anybody know what setting in Project or elswhere in Windows might cause this situation where Project does not seem to remember her Windows logon ID and password like it does for me and also anybody else in our group using this program

Any help would be appreciated
Thanks
Steve Chermak

M

Marc Soester [MVP]

Hi Steve,

I assume that you guys use Windows authentication. In this case, your
resource does not need to enter her credentials. All she needs to do is
click OK and make sure that the "Enter user credentials" is not selected.
That should do the trick
Thanks
Marc

S

Steve Chermak

I went back and went through with her and had her uncheck the "Enter User Credentials"....it was selected, as compared to my machine where it is not selected....

But, it would not let her in, it gave an error message along the lines of "Unable to connect max retry exceeded